UGalla - ugala Forest Reserve
Home Page  Uwanda - Rukwa Lake Rukwa Lake Tanganyika Moyowosi Game Reserve Katavi National Park Kigosi Game Reserve

Ugala Forest

Ugalla (Tongwe) East Forest Reserve

Chimpanzee Sanctuary
"Natural forests  with its beautiful river flowing by"
The reserve is located in  western part of Tanzania, lying between Tabora and Rukwa regions. The Ugalla Tongwe Forest Reserve is on the west of Ugalla River Game Reserve, consists of a broken table-like  plateau that connects with  Masito Hills on the west, with few narrow and steep valleys.
Ugalla has the least forest in the whole distribution area of  Chimpanzee in Tanzania, which includes Mahale Mountains National Park and Gombe Stream National Park.  The park has a considerable number of chimpanzee which are under the project observations. The Tongwe East Forest Reserve, known to primatologists as Ugalla, is one of the driest habitats in which chimpanzees are known to live.  As such the site is an important for understanding the climatic and vegetation factors limiting the distribution of chimpanzees.  Ugalla, Malagarasi and Lugufu Rivers appear to act as boundaries to chimpanzee expansion. No chimps have been found on eastern side of the Ugalla River.
The forest reserve covers an area of 2800 square kilometers in the western plateau, which is bounded by the Uvinza-Mpanda Road in the west, the River Malagalasi in the north, the Ugalla River in the East and a drop-off to the lower elevation to the south.
The Forest Reserve is dominated by canyons which are seasonal oriented, [they run dry during dry season]. Grass and Miombo woodlands are types of vegetations dominating the park, which support remarkable population of primates and other species  such as reptiles and birds such as owls.
It is included in Ugalla Complex, which includes: Ugalla Forest, Ugalla Flood Plain (famous for old bulls of elephants), the then Uwanda reserves (now Katavi N.P), Mlele, Msima Inyonga, Ugunda and Rungwa River game controlled Area, in total form largest complex of wildlife in the west and central of Tanzania and share ecosystems with Ruaha National Park (see The Map PDF)

 Mbeya Town  -  Pemba Island  - Arusha Town - Kigoma Town - Dar es Salaam - Mafia Island - Zanzibar Island - Tanga City

Utalii Travel&Safaris Ltd Copyright 2000 - 2014 All rights reserved. Revised: September 04, 2014